Features

Solid modeling

The VML supports Constructive Solid Geometry (CSG) like operations. Thereby the involved geometric objects must be in closed boundary representation. By using a hierarchical space decomposition combined with an intelligent elimination strategy, the modeling has a high memory and run-time efficiency.

Solid sweeping

Based on the geometric object and the path, the VML computes the according swept volume. By the use of a generic point-cloud based approach, the computation has a distinctive run-time efficiency. Furthermore it does not put any restrictions on the geometric object and path.

High number of modeling operations

The VML has no limit considering the number of modeling operations. Because of the intelligent elimination strategy during modeling, even performing 100,000 modeling operations has only a minor impact on the memory and run-time efficiency of the VML.

Collision detection

The VML detects collisions between the current geometric model and any geometric object. The collision detection algorithm is also capable of taking a specified minimum separation distance into account. By using a hierarchical space decomposition, collisions are detected within milliseconds.

Surface export

The VML exports the surface of the current geometric model in form of a triangle mesh at any resolution. Thereby geometric features (edges and corners) are preserved.

Interactive photo-realistic visualization

In order to visualize the current geometric model at interactive frame rates, the VML provides a representation in form of a triangle mesh. With established technologies, like OpenGL or DirectX, photo realistic visualizations are possible.

High precision

One of the main features of the VML is its high modeling precision. During modeling the resulting geometric model is not approximated. This is achieved by spatial partitioning of the geometric objects and keeping only those parts, which contribute to the final surface.

Dual geometric representation

The VML supports two different geometric representations for surfaces. Triangle meshes offer a high computation performance at medium geometric precision. In contrast analytic surfaces allow a high geometric precision at a minimal performance drawback.

Surface vertification

The VML compares the surfaces of the current   geometric model and the reference CAD model. Thereby for any point of view for all pixels on the screen the difference values are calculated at interactive frame rates. The difference value is the normal distance of a point on the current surface to the reference surface.

Ease of integration

The VML has a very straightforward programming interface. For example, a CAM system can use the VML for machining simulation. Thereby it utilizes the solid sweeping and modeling module for material removal simulation and the collision detection and surface verification module for CNC verification.

PRECISE SOLID MODELING OF DETAILED GEOMETRIES IN REAL-TIME SIMULATIONS

The Virtual Modeling Library (VML) is a software library, which implements new algorithms for the exact geometric modeling of solids. It supports Constructive Solid Geometry (CSG) like operations and solid sweeping. The VML offers a good scalability of run-time and memory requirements with regard to the number of modeling operations. This makes the library best suited for industrial applications with combined needs in geometric precision and speed of operations. One application field is the real-time simulation of material removal in machining processes with a high number of processing steps. Besides modeling the VML supports algorithms for interactive visualization, collision detection between any geometry and the current geometry, and surface verification of the current geometry against a reference CAD model. In order to guarantee the high run-time efficiency, the VML exploits the parallelization potential of modern hardware architectures, like Multi-Core Central Processing Units (CPUs) and Graphic Processing Units (GPUs). Beside the already mentioned features, the VML offers surface export and the ease of integration.

Architecture

The development of key parts of the methods implemented in the VML, was funded by the European Regional Development Fund and by the Upper Austria State Government under the Regional Competitiveness Program 2007-2013 Upper Austria.

acknowledgement

Contact

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Alexander Leutgeb

Expert Software Architect & Project Manager
Phone: +43 7236 / 33 43 - 240
Mail: alexander.leutgeb@risc-software.at

EIGENSCHAFTEN

Festkörpermodellierung

Die VML unterstützt an Constructive Solid Geometry (CSG) angelehnte Operationen. Dabei müssen die an den Operationen beteiligten geometrischen Objekte in einem geschlossenen Begrenzungsflächenmodell vorliegen. Durch Verwendung einer hierarchischen Raumpartitionierung kombiniert mit einer intelligenten Eliminierungsstrategie, weist die Modellierung eine hohe Speicher- und Laufzeiteffizienz auf.

Hüllvolumenberechnung

Die VML berechnet, basierend auf einem geometrischen Objekt und einem Pfad, das entsprechende Hüllvolumen. Durch die Verwendung eines auf Punktwolken basierten Ansatzes, weist die Berechnung eine herausragende Laufzeiteffizienz auf. Weiters unterliegen das geometrische Objekt und der Pfad keinerlei Einschränkungen.

Hohe Anzahl an Operationen

Die VML unterliegt keinem Limit bezüglich der Anzahl der durchgeführten Operationen während der Modellierung. Aufgrund der intelligenten Eliminierungsstrategie  hat das Durchführen auch von 100.000 Operationen nur geringe Auswirkungen auf die Speicher- und Laufzeiteffizienz der VML.

Kollisionserkennung

Die VML erkennt Kollisionen zwischen dem aktuellen geometrischen Modell und einem beliebigen geometrischen Objekt. Der Kollisionserkennungsalgorithmus ist auch in der Lage einen definierten Mindestabstand zu berücksichtigen. Durch Verwendung einer hierarchischen Raumpartitionierung, können Kollisionen innerhalb von Millisekunden erkannt werden.

Oberflächen Export

Die VML exportiert die Oberfläche des aktuellen geometrischen Modells in Form eines Dreiecksnetzes mit einer definierten Auflösung. Dabei bleiben geometrische Eigenschaften wie Kanten und Ecken erhalten.

Interaktive Visualisierung

Um das aktuelle geometrische Modell bei interaktiven Bildraten zu visualisieren, liefert die VML eine Repräsentierung in Form eines Dreiecksnetzes. Mit etablierten Technologien wie OpenGL oder DirectX werden fotorealistische Visualisierungen erzielt.

Hohe Genauigkeit

Eine der Haupteigenschaften der VML ist die hohe Modellierungsgenauigkeit. Während der Modellierung wird das resultierende geometrische Modell nicht approximiert. Dies wird durch räumliche Partitionierung der geometrischen Objekte und Behalten nur zur finalen Oberfläche beitragender Teile erreicht.

Duale geometrische Repräsentierung

Die VML untersützt zur geometrischen Beschreibung von Oberflächen zwei unterschiedliche Repräsentierungen. Dreiecksnetze bieten eine hohe Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit bei mittlerer geometrischer Genauigkeit. Analytische Oberflächen hingegen erlauben eine hohe Präzision mit minimalen Abstrichen in der Performanz.

Oberflächenverifikation

Die VML vergleicht die Oberfläche des aktuellen geometrischen Modells mit einem Referenz-CAD-Modell. Die Berechnung der Differenzwerte für beliebige Ansichten ist bei interaktiven Bildraten möglich. Der Differenzwert ist der Normalabstand von einem Punkt auf der aktuellen Oberfläche zu der Referenz Oberfläche.

Einfache Integration

Die VML hat eine sehr kompakte Schnittstelle. Ein CAM System kann basierend auf der VML eine Bearbeitungssimulation umsetzen. Dabei verwendet es die VML Module zur Hüllvolumenberechnung und Festkörpermodellierung um die Simulation des Materialabtrags durchzuführen. Die Module zur Kollisionserkennung und Oberflächenverifikation werden für die CNC Verfifikation verwendet.

PRÄZISE MODELLIERUNG VON DETAILIERTEN GEOMETRIEN FÜR ECHTZEITSIMULATIONEN

Die Virtual Modeling Library (VML) ist eine Software Bibliothek, welche neue Algorithmen zur exakten geometrischen Modellierung von Festkörpern implementiert. Sie unterstützt an Constructive Solid Geometry (CSG) angelehnte Operationen und die Hüllvolumenberechnung. Die VML bietet hinsichtlich Laufzeit und Speicherbedarf eine gute Skalierbarkeit bezüglich der Anzahl der bei der Modellierung durchgeführten Operationen. Dadurch ist die Bibliothek bestens für industrielle Anwendungen geeignet, welche kombinierte Anforderungen hinsichtlich geometrischer Genauigkeit und Geschwindigkeit der Operationen aufweisen. Ein Anwendungsbeispiel ist die Echtzeitsimulation des Materialabtrags bei zerspanenden Bearbeitungsprozessen mit einer hohen Anzahl an Bearbeitungsschritten. Neben der Modellierung bietet die VML Algorithmen zur interaktiven Visualisierung, Kollisionserkennung zwischen einer beliebigen Geometrie und der aktuellen Geometrie und Oberflächenverifikation zwischen der aktuellen Geometrie und einem Referenz-CAD-Modell. Um die hohe Laufzeiteffizienz sicherzustellen, nutzt die VML das Parallelisierungspotential moderner Hardware-Architekturen wie Multi-Core Central Processing Units (CPUs) und Graphic Processing Units (GPUs). Neben den bereits erwähnten Produkteigenschaften bietet die VML den Export der Oberfläche der aktuellen Geometrie und die Einfachheit der Integration in andere Softwaresysteme.

Architecture

Die Entwicklung wesentlicher Teile der Verfahren, welche die VML implementiert, wurde im Rahmen des Programms Regionale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit OÖ 2007-2013 aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung sowie aus Mitteln des Landes OÖ gefördert.

acknowledgement

Kontakt

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Alexander Leutgeb

Expert Software Architect & Project Manager
Telefon: +43 7236 / 33 43 - 240
E-Mail: alexander.leutgeb@risc-software.at